Technology has made things great. People can now do things with the greatest of ease that they couldn't do even 20 years ago. Although there is a problem that has arisen with the popularity of text messages and that is texting while driving.
First of all, what are the dangers of texting while driving? It's pretty simple really. Even if you think you're an expert at texting, do keep in mind that you are driving a motor vehicle. To figure out how far you go, multiply your speed in miles per hour by 1.5. That's approximately how many feet the car travels in just 1 second. So if you're traveling in a car at 40 mph, that means in one second that you are driving 60 feet! And distracted driving can lead to car accidents or even fatalities while driving. Hence the phrase "Honk if you love Jesus. Txt while driving if u want 2 meet him".
How dangerous is driving while texting? The longer you do it, the more dangerous it becomes, and According to Nationwide Insurance, 25% of all traffic crashes are the result of what is known as distracted driving, which includes things like texting, using the cell phone while driving and reaching for your cell phone while it is ringing. Most states require a bluetooth device so that you can keep your hands at 10 and 2 while you are driving. In addition, driving while using a cell phone makes you four times as likely to get into a crash that will injure you permanently.
What are the laws in the United States? Well, as of 2011, the laws are as follows:
Texting while driving is strictly forbidden in these 34 states (plus the District of Columbia):
• District of Columbia
• Nevada (to be enforced starting 1/1/12)
• New Hampshire
• New Jersey
• New York
• North Carolina
• North Dakota
• Rhode Island
Texting while driving is still not illegal in these 10 states, although texting while driving is still incredibly dangerous:
• New Mexico
• South Carolina
• South Dakota
Some states have laws that prohibit some drivers from texting while driving, but others are free to text:
• Mississippi -- In Mississippi, the law is that people with learner's permits and intermediate licenses cannot text while driving.
• Missouri -- In Missouri, It is illegal to text while driving if you are 21 or younger.
• Nebraska -- Anyone under 18 who has a learner's permit or an intermediate license cannot text while they're driving in Nebraska.
• Oklahoma -- Oklahoma has several classes of people who cannot text while driving. They include: Learner's Permit holders, intermediate license holders, school bus drivers and public transit workers.
• Texas -- The "Lone Star" State forbids texting if you are a bus driver with a passenger 17 or younger, an intermediate license holder during the first 12 months or drivers in school crossing zones.
• West Virginia -- West Virginia does not allow texting while driving if a driver is under 18 with a learner's permit or an intermediate license.
In conclusion, driving while texting is very dangerous and can be fatal, and not only that but you can get a ticket in most states. With 8 out of 10 people recommending that cars become the "no phone zone", it shouldn't be a surprise that you will see more states ban texting while driving as time goes on. The thing to ask yourself is: Is that text message really worth dying for?
FEEL FREE TO COMMENT ON THIS ARTICLE
COMMENTS ARE MODERATED BY FREE TEXT ADMINISTRATION
PLEASE REFRAIN FROM ABUSIVE LANGUAGE OR SPAM OF ANY KIND WHICH WILL RESULT IN DELETION AND POSSIBLE BAN
The following article has been copyrighted by FreeText.com